## The 3rd Plasma Materials Science Hall of Fame Prize

was awarded to

Prof. Masaharu Shiratani,

Kyushu University,

for the excellent achievements in comprehensive research with regard to the measurement of higher-order radicals and fine particles in silane plasmas, clarification, and systematization of the dynamic mechanisms of gas-phase reactions, and synthesis of high-quality amorphous silicon thin films, and the tremendous contributions to the international plasma materials science community.



**Prof. Masaharu Shiratani**Kyushu University



CVC plasma contains source gas ( $SiH_4$  for a-Si:H deposition), radicals ( $SiH_x$ ), higher order molecules ( $Si_mH_n$ ), and clusters (nano particles). Their generation, transport, and loss are the key to control film properties.

